This project is read-only.

ParallelFox: Use with HyperThreading single core

Topics: Enhancement Request, General
Feb 21, 2011 at 8:14 PM

Hi Joel (and others).  

I check the ParallelFox class videos and this is impressive.  Especially the part where a worker can pass cursors to the parent thread!

I download the class and tried the demo prg that were included.  I don't know why, but the demos runs something like 10 seconds more WITH ParallelFox than WITHOUT.  It may be caused by the fact that my computer is a single core with HyperThreading (ParallelFox then starts 2 workers).  But I would have thought that an HyperThreading single core would still be faster that a normally running VFP as a single core.

The demos run multi-threaded as expected, only slower than expected.  Is there something wrong I did?

Thanks.

Feb 21, 2011 at 11:23 PM

Hi,

I'm not an expert on HyperThreading, but it is very difficult to predict how it will affect performance.  See these links for more info:

http://www.agner.org/optimize/blog/read.php?i=6

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1302

Which example program did you run? 

Feb 22, 2011 at 2:01 PM

Thanks for your response.

I did try all of the sample that are included with ParallelFox and all of them are slower on my computer.